Alcohol Server Logo

Certified by NM RLD

Alcohol & Gaming Division

David Parham - Provider #74 (505) 715-0003

Email: NMServerPermit@hotmail.com

New Mexico's choice for alcohol server training.

We provide the most thorough and accurate alcohol server training available in New Mexico.

We are the only provider offering classes throughout the state.

Upcoming classes listed below.

Answers to the most commonly asked questions:

Who needs an alcohol server permit?

Anyone who sells or serves alcoholic beverages to customers or guests at a licensed establishment, as well as anyone who manages, directs or controls the sale or service of alcoholic beverages.

Where can I work after I obtain an alcohol server permit?

You can work anywhere in the state of New Mexico selling or serving alcoholic beverages. The minimum age for retail sales or to work in a bar, cocktail lounge or nightclub is 21. The minimum age to serve alcoholic beverages in a restaurant is 19.

Can I sell or serve alcoholic beverages in New Mexico without a permit?

Sellers and servers who have not previously had a server permit in New Mexico have a 30 day grace period to obtain a permit. It is highly recommended that anyone who sells or serves alcoholic beverages obtain a permit prior to starting work, or as soon as possible thereafter. There are very serious criminal and administrative penalties, including possible imprisonment, for violating sales and service laws. Anyone who currently has a permit, or who has had a permit at any time in New Mexico does not have a grace period and must obtain a permit before the expiration of the the current permit or before resuming the sale or service of alcoholic beverages if the previous permit has expired. Selling or serving alcoholic beverages without a valid permit can result in severe penalties.

Who can get an alcohol server permit?

Anyone who is 19 years of age or older on the day of class. No prior knowledge or experience is required. Minimum age for retail sales or to work in a bar, cocktail lounge or nightclub is 21.

How can I get an alcohol server permit?

Attend one of the classes listed below and pass the final exam with a score of 80% or higher.

How can I get a replacement for a lost permit?

Contact the Alcohol and Gaming Division to request a replacement of your permanent permit. Contact the provider who issued your temporary permit to request a replacement of your temporary permit. You can also attend a class to obtain a new permit. Class requirements and fees apply.

What is the best way to get an alcohol server permit?

Attend the next scheduled class in your area (listed below). The interactive classroom environment and our proven training method are the fastest and most effective way to learn how to sell and serve alcohol responsibly. Training and the exam are completed without delay or distraction, and the alcohol server permit is issued immediately. You can leave the class with your new permit and go to work selling or serving alcoholic beverages the same day. Sellers and servers who complete our program are more knowledgeable and confident, and have far fewer violations, than those who obtain a permit by a different method.

What if I fail the final exam?

The purpose of the class is not to pass the exam, but to learn to sell and serve alcohol responsibly. While we cannot guarantee that everyone who attends the class will pass the exam, we can confidently state that everyone who fully participates in the class and is willing to put in the effort to learn the information will know how to sell and serve alcohol responsibly, and will be very well prepared to pass the exam. Our proven training method is the fastest and most effective way to learn how to sell and serve alcohol responsibly. After the class presentation, the instructor is available to review the material with any students who need additional help. Accomodation will be made for physical, learning, or reading disabilities. Please notify the instructor before the class if any special accomodation is required.

What is the cost to attend the class and how can I pay?

The price varies depending on the location of the class. Current prices are listed at the bottom of the page. Acceptable forms of payment are cash, money order, or company check. Payment is accepted at the time of the class, no pre-payment required.

Do I have to pre-register for a class to attend?

No pre-registration is required. Reservations are accepted, and recommended for groups attending a class together. Walk-ins are welcome, subject to available seating.

How long is the class?

The scheduled class time is 5 hours, including breaks described below. New Mexico law requires 4.5 hours of instruction time. With no delays of any kind, the class presentation will be completed in 5 hours. All material will be covered, regardless of any delays. Questions or additional discussion during the class can easily add 15-30 minutes to the class. The final exam takes an average of 20 minutes to complete after the conclusion of the presentation.

Are there breaks during the class?

There are typically two breaks during the class. The first break is usually about two hours into the class and lasts about 15 minutes. It is your opportunity to go somewhere nearby to buy lunch or snacks to bring back to eat as we continue. The second break is usually about 1 hour and 15 minutes before the end of the presentation and lasts about 5 minutes. You may also take a short break prior to completing the exam, if you want.

When will I receive my alcohol server permit?

Temporary server permits are issued upon successfully completing the exam. Permanent permits are mailed by the Alcohol and Gaming Division within 120 days.

Does an alcohol server permit expire?

Permits are good for three years from the date of class, and then must be renewed.

How can I renew my alcohol server permit?

All permits must be renewed by attending an approved class and passing the exam.

Is a permit from another state acceptable to sell or serve alcohol in New Mexico?

No. An alcohol server permit issued by a provider approved by the New Mexico Alcohol and Gaming Division is the only acceptable permit.

Is my alcohol server permit valid in other states?

No. New Mexico alcohol server permits are only valid in New Mexico.

Is a New Mexico ID required to obtain an alcohol server permit?

Any valid form of identification issued by any government which contains a photograph, description, and date of birth is acceptable. You must also know your Social Security Number or Individual Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN), but you do not have to bring the SS or ITIN card to the class.

What else do I need to bring to the class?

Pen and paper for notes are helpful. A light sweater or jacket might be useful. Lunch, snacks, or beverages to enjoy during the class are allowed. Cell phones and all other electronic devices are discouraged, and must be completely powered off for the entire class.

Is the class offered in Spanish?

The class is conducted in English. The class materials and final exam are available in Spanish. The instructor is able to guide Spanish speaking students and answer questions. After the class presentation, the instructor is available to review the material with any students who need additional help. Students may bring an interpreter to assist during the class, however the student must pass the final exam based on their own understanding of the information. Spanish speaking students should allow additional time to complete the class and exam.


Call or email for information or reservations

Reservations accepted, but not required. Walk-ins welcome, subject to available seating.

Must be 19 or older with valid ID in hand.

Must provide Social Security number or ITIN.

Temporary permit issued on day of class.

Payment by cash, money order or company check.

Direct billing and private, on-site classes available for employers, contact us for information.


Additional Information

We currently do not offer training classes online. Our interactive classroom environment and proven training method are the fastest and most effective way to learn how to sell and serve alcohol responsibly. Training and the exam are completed without delay or distraction, and the alcohol server permit is issued immediately. You can leave the class with your new permit and go to work selling or serving alcoholic beverages the same day. Sellers and servers who complete our program are more knowledgeable and confident, and have far fewer violations, than those who obtain a permit by a different method.Beware of unauthorized providers for alcohol server training. Only providers certified by the New Mexico Regulation and Licensing Department, Alcohol and Gaming Division are acceptable.

To request a replacement of your permanent server permit:

Print the Duplicate Request Form and follow the instructions on the form.

To request a replacement of your temporary permit, contact the provider by whom it was issued.

Alcohol and Gaming Division Website:

http://www.rld.state.nm.us/alcoholandgaming/

AGD Phone (505) 476-4875


Upcoming Classes

 

Alamogordo

Sgt. Willie Estrada Memorial Civic Center

800 E. First Street

Albuquerque

Allsup's District Office (Open to the Public)

5115 Homestead Circle NW

Artesia

Pecos Inn

2209 W. Main Street

Carlsbad

Econolodge - Ocotillo Lounge

3706 National Parks Highway

Clovis

Clovis Community College

417 Schepps Blvd

Room 184 Classroom South Bldg

Farmington

Farmington Civic Center

200 W. Arrington

Grants

Coyote del Malpais Golf Course

2001 George Hanosh Blvd

Hobbs

VFW

609 W. Alto Drive

Las Vegas

Holiday Inn Express

816 S. Grand Ave.

Roswell

La Quinta

200 E. 19th Street

Ruidoso

Cree Meadows Country Club

301 Country Club Drive

Santa Fe

Allsup's District Office (Open to the Public)

2007 Calle Lorca

Silver City

Silver City Women's Club

411 Silver Heights Blvd

Taos

Sagebrush Inn & Suites

1508 Paseo del Pueblo Sur

 


Albuquerque, Rio Rancho, Santa Fe, Farmington, Gallup, Grants, Silver City $35.00

Roswell, Clovis, Hobbs, Artesia, Carlsbad, Ruidoso, Alamogordo , Las Vegas, Raton, Red River, Taos $40.00

Acceptable forms of payment are cash, money order, or company check. We are not able to accept credit/debit cards or personal checks.


Certified by NM RLD Alcohol & Gaming Division

David Parham - Provider #74 (505) 715-0003

NMServerPermit@hotmail.com